Strikers Trio In NPLQLD Team of the Season

Sep 23, 2019 by

Three Brisbane Strikers stand-outs have been recognised in the Football Queensland NPL Queensland Team of the Season for 2019.

Attacker Andy Pengelly and goalkeeper Bon Scott were named in the starting line-up of the side, while defender Michael McGowan was named as a substitute.

The NPL Queensland Team of the Season is selected based on appearances in the regular Team of the Week, in addition to end of year votes from team coaches and the Football Queensland match commentary team.

The trio of selected players were prolific contributors for Brisbane Strikers in the National Premier Leagues this season as the team fell just short of finals football in fifth position.

The recognition is the second for Andy Pengelly in his record-breaking first season at Brisbane Strikers after claiming the competition’s Golden Boot award with an unprecedented 41 goals in the home-and-away season.

The 22-year-old also featured eight times in the NPL Queensland Team of the Week through the campaign.

At the other end of the pitch, Bon Scott was another that shone in his first year with Brisbane Strikers – keeping six clean sheets and making three appearances in the NPL Queensland Team of the Week.

The 22-year-old was also twice nominated for the Football Queensland Save of the Month during the campaign.

The experienced Michael McGowan earned his place on the bench after being named in the Team of the Week on five occasions this season with his fearsome defensive style.

The 31-year-old often proved a guiding hand as the oldest player in the Brisbane Strikers squad this year and posted his 50th competitive appearance for the club.

Brisbane Strikers coach Owen Baker recognised the achievements of the trio and congratulated them on their selections.

“Andy, Bon and Michael play in three very different positions but have one thing in common – they have been outstanding for us this season,” Baker said.

“They deserve their selections in the Team of the Season and it is great to see the club well represented in the team once again.”

The selections follow on from two Brisbane Strikers selections – Jake McLean and Hiroki Omori – in last year’s Team of the Season.


About the author

Marketing Brisbane Strikers