Strikers Stand-Outs To Be Recognised

Oct 17, 2019 by

Stand out performers from Brisbane Strikers 2019 season will be recognised on Friday night at the club’s annual Presentation Evening.

The Presentation Evening marks the official conclusion of the club’s 2019 season that saw record-breaking achievements across the club – including a heralded run to the FFA Cup Semi Finals earlier this month.

The night will see individual awards presented to players from the club’s senior team in addition to the Under 20’s and Under 18’s youth teams.

Brisbane Strikers head coach Owen Baker said he is eagerly anticipating another special night for the club after a history-making 2019.

“It’s a night where we can recognise the hard work and achievements of the players and other people at the club,” he said.

“The awards night is always great fun and it is great that we will host it at Perry Park where we have so many great nights already this year.

“I’m looking forward to seeing the reactions of the players when they see who has won the awards.”

The highest honour in each team is the Player of the Year award, chosen by the head coach of each respective team.

A Players’ Player of the Year Award is also presented based on the votes submitted by players from each team.

The highest goal scorer in each team will also be recognised with the Golden Boot Award – the only award where winners are widely known prior to the night.

Also presented is the Supporters’ Player of the Year Award, as determined by a highly engaging online vote earlier this month, and the Geoff Wright Star of the Future Award that recognises an outstanding young talent at the club.

Outside of the playing group, the Jack Baren Award will also be presented to recognise the contribution of an outstanding club volunteer.

In 2018, current Brisbane Strikers skipper Jake McLean swept the Player of the Year and Player’s Player of the Year awards for the senior team.

Previous winners of major club awards include a raft of famous names that have gone on to shine on the national and international stage including Michael Zullo, Matt McKay, Matt Smith and Fernando Rech.


About the author

Marketing Brisbane Strikers