Fraser Hills Wins Michael Cockerill Medal

Oct 23, 2019 by

Brisbane Strikers midfielder Fraser Hills has created history by being the first player from the club to be awarded the Michael Cockerill Medal.

The Michael Cockerill Medal is presented annually to the most outstanding player from outside the Hyundai A-League in the FFA Cup national stages.

Hills was formally presented with the award on Wednesday night prior to the FFA Cup Final between Melbourne City and Adelaide United, flanked by his family and Brisbane Strikers head coach Owen Baker.

Hills was recognised for his outstanding contributions to Brisbane Strikers’ history-making run to the FFA Cup Semi Final – the best ever return of any Queensland club in the national knock-out competition.

The 24-year-old played in every match of the Brisbane Strikers’ FFA Cup campaign and scored crucial goals against Gold Coast Knights (Preliminary Round 7) and Moreland Zebras (Quarter Final).

He also netted the decisive penalty in the shoot-out victory over Hyundai A-League club Wellington Phoenix in the Round of 32.

Hills told Fox Sports, “It’s amazing to win such a great award and I thank my team mates for helping make it happen.”

The award underscores an outstanding year for Hills, who was also recognised as the club’s Player of the Year less than a week ago.

Previously an NPL Queensland Premiership winner with Brisbane Strikers, Hills returned to club this season following two injury-plagued seasons away.

Hills now becomes the first ever Queensland-based player to win the Michael Cockerill Medal.

The award is named for 2011 FFA Hall of Fame inductee Michael Cockerill, who passed away in 2017 following a decorated career as a football broadcaster and writer.

Last year, the inaugural winner was Avondale FC’s Elvis Kamsoba, who has since gone on to become a star player at Melbourne Victory in the Hyundai A-League and play international football with Burundi.

Hills said he hopes he – or one of his teammates – can replicate Kamsoba’s effort and push into the Hyundai A-League sooner rather than later.

“Everyone wants to go further and to that next level. Hopefully one day it will come around and we can do it.”

The award is determined by the football department of Fox Sports – the official broadcast partner of the national stages of the FFA Cup.

Hills becomes just the fourth Brisbane Strikers player to be recognised with an award as a stand-out player in a national competition – joining Alan Hunter (1997 Joe Marston Medal ), Fernando Rech (2002 Johnny Warren Medal) and Kasey Wehrman (1997 Under 21 Player of the Year) in the exclusive group.

Image supplied by Football Federation Australia


About the author

Marketing Brisbane Strikers