Double Dose Of History At Strikers’ Awards Evening

Sep 13, 2017 by

Centre half Greig Henslee and midfielder Jake McLean were each left clutching a trophy and reflecting on a slice of history at tonight’s Brisbane Strikers Presentation Evening for Season 2017 held at Shangri-La Gardens.

At the event held to recognise the achievements of Strikers senior, Under-20s and Under-18s teams, Henslee scooped the Player of the Year award (voted on by the club’s coaching staff) for the second year in succession while McLean matched his achievement with back-to-back Players’ Player of the Year awards.

Fullback Hiroki Omori chimed in with the Brisbane Strikers Supporters’ Player of the Season award (succeeding Henslee, who won it in 2015 and 2016) while Ryan Palmer was voted the club’s Star of the Future and Jeremy Stewart took out the Golden Boot for his 15-goal haul in his first season for Strikers.

“I am so happy”, said Omori after learning he had been voted the fans’ top player in his second season with the club.
“I’ve had great seasons this year and last year. I appreciate my coach and team mates for everything – thank you so much”.

Omori said he had added strength and speed to his game since making the move from Japan and was also enjoying coaching juniors. He said he hoped to be back at Perry Park next season.

The Japanese import became the first ‘visa player’ to win the Supporters’ nod since Brazilian Fernando Rech, who starred for the club during its NSL era.

Meanwhile McLean said he was delighted to have earned the ultimate respect of his peers with the Players’ Player trophy for the second year in succession.

“It’s good to get the recognition of the players because obviously they see you training week in, week out and they know how you play and what impact you can have,” McLean said.

“So it’s definitely a good honour to be given it not once, but twice. I’m very grateful.

“It’s been a great year. I managed to score a few more goals than I had in the last couple of years, so it’s been good to get on the scoresheet and make an impact for the team in big games.”

On the subject of big games, McLean made it clear that he and his team mates were not satisfied yet with their season’s work.

“Hopefully we can push on and win the (national) PlayStation 4 NPL Finals,” he continued.

“It’s the ultimate aim for every premiership winning team in each of the states. It would be good to be recognised as the best non A-League team in the country, especially with the Strikers’ A-League bid.

“It is very important for the club and the players to put on a good show for the rest of the country.”

19-year-old Palmer won his award after a season in which he broke through from the youth ranks and made seventeen league appearances for the senior team, contributing a goal and numerous assists as part of a dynamic midfield contingent.

The full list of awards winners is as follows:

Senior team
Player of the Year: Greig Henslee
Players’ Player of the Year: Jake McLean
Strikers Supporters’ Player of the Season: Hiroki Omori
Golden Boot: Jeremy Stewart

Youth (Under-20s)
Player of the Year: Kyle Borg
Players’ Player of the Year: Lachlan Weier
Golden Boot: Fraser Eller

Player of the Year: Kieran Hill
Players’ Player of the Year: Josh Matcham
Golden Boot: Josh Matcham

Star of the Future: Ryan Palmer
Jack Baren Award: Bob McLaren

Brisbane Strikers Hall of Fame inductee: Ray Evans

Photo (left to right); Jake McLean, Hiroki Omori, Jeremy Stewart, Greig Henslee, Ryan Palmer

Club News, News

About the author

Marketing Brisbane Strikers